« Return to search form

Please note that data are cataloged by fiscal years -- you can switch to different years using the links below. For more info see our user guide.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Wisconsin 2016 Revenue Lost to Tax Abatement Programs

Total Revenue Lost: 
Download results as CSV or XML

State-level programs

Click on the name of a program for more details.

Program Namesort icon Program Type Revenue Loss

Tabulated localities and districts

Click on the name of jurisdiction for a list of tax abatement programs that reduced its tax revenue.

We estimated the reporting rate among local governments for each state using 2018 and 2019 data. This is to gauge how much data is available in that state.

For Wisconsin, the estimated reporting rate is as follows:

Cities/counties: 16 out of 105 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

School districts: 1 out of 212 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

Concerned about the lack of disclosure? Check out the roadmap on GASB 77 compliance we created for WI. You can also get a CSV file of the localities in WI that did not make any tax abatement disclosures in their annual financial reports.

Why is there little or no reporting from school districts?: Wisconsin's local governments rely on tax increment financing (TIF); some TIF diversions should be but are not currently covered by GASB 77.

The state does not post local financial audits in an online repository.

Reporting Jurisdiction Jurisdiction Type Gross Revenue Losssort icon
St. Croix County County $0
Ozaukee County County $0
Milwaukee County County $0
Pepin County County $0
Adams County County $0
Marathon County County $0
Racine County County $0
Rhinelander Municipality $0
Sauk County County $0
La Crosse County County $0
Sheboygan County County $0
Janesville Municipality $0
Superior Municipality $0
Eau Claire Municipality $0
Douglas County County $0
Dodge County County $0
Brown County County $0
Walworth County County $0
Waupaka County County $0
Wood County County $0
Florence County County $19,266
Ashland Municipality $72,708
Cumberland Municipality $133,862
Green Bay Municipality $191,233
Marinette Municipality $217,644
Stanley Municipality $262,109
Viroqua Municipality $437,424
Beloit Municipality $668,705
Sheboygan Municipality $741,972
Edgerton Municipality $814,209
Fond du Lac Municipality $1,334,853
LaCrosse Municipality $1,508,958
Beaver Dam Municipality $1,579,350
Racine Municipality $2,217,402
Wausau Municipality $2,239,465
Manitowoc Municipality $2,578,334
Milwaukee Municipality $2,580,000
Appleton Municipality $2,803,758
Wauwatosa Municipality $3,958,298
Oshkosh Municipality $4,134,288
Kenosha Municipality $18,032,574
Madison Municipality $39,448,014