« Return to search form

Please note that data are cataloged by fiscal years -- you can switch to different years using the links below. For more info see our user guide.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Wisconsin 2016 Revenue Lost to Tax Abatement Programs

Total Revenue Lost: 
Download results as CSV or XML

State-level programs

Click on the name of a program for more details.

Program Namesort icon Program Type Revenue Loss

Tabulated localities and districts

Click on the name of jurisdiction for a list of tax abatement programs that reduced its tax revenue.

We estimated the reporting rate among local governments for each state using 2018 and 2019 data. This is to gauge how much data is available in that state.

For Wisconsin, the estimated reporting rate is as follows:

Cities/counties: 16 out of 105 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

School districts: 1 out of 212 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

Concerned about the lack of disclosure? Check out the roadmap on GASB 77 compliance we created for WI. You can also get a CSV file of the localities in WI that did not make any tax abatement disclosures in their annual financial reports.

Why is there little or no reporting from school districts?: Wisconsin's local governments rely on tax increment financing (TIF); some TIF diversions should be but are not currently covered by GASB 77.

The state does not post local financial audits in an online repository.

Reporting Jurisdictionsort icon Jurisdiction Type Gross Revenue Loss
Adams County County $0
Appleton Municipality $2,803,758
Ashland Municipality $72,708
Beaver Dam Municipality $1,579,350
Beloit Municipality $668,705
Brown County County $0
Cumberland Municipality $133,862
Dodge County County $0
Douglas County County $0
Eau Claire Municipality $0
Edgerton Municipality $814,209
Florence County County $19,266
Fond du Lac Municipality $1,334,853
Green Bay Municipality $191,233
Janesville Municipality $0
Kenosha Municipality $18,032,574
La Crosse County County $0
LaCrosse Municipality $1,508,958
Madison Municipality $39,448,014
Manitowoc Municipality $2,578,334
Marathon County County $0
Marinette Municipality $217,644
Milwaukee Municipality $2,580,000
Milwaukee County County $0
Oshkosh Municipality $4,134,288
Ozaukee County County $0
Pepin County County $0
Racine Municipality $2,217,402
Racine County County $0
Rhinelander Municipality $0
Sauk County County $0
Sheboygan Municipality $741,972
Sheboygan County County $0
St. Croix County County $0
Stanley Municipality $262,109
Superior Municipality $0
Viroqua Municipality $437,424
Walworth County County $0
Waupaka County County $0
Wausau Municipality $2,239,465
Wauwatosa Municipality $3,958,298
Wood County County $0