« Return to search form

Please note that data are cataloged by fiscal years -- you can switch to different years using the links below. For more info see our user guide.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Wisconsin 2016 Revenue Lost to Tax Abatement Programs

Total Revenue Lost: 
Download results as CSV or XML

State-level programs

Click on the name of a program for more details.

Program Name Program Type Revenue Losssort icon

Tabulated localities and districts

Click on the name of jurisdiction for a list of tax abatement programs that reduced its tax revenue.

We estimated the reporting rate among local governments for each state using 2018 and 2019 data. This is to gauge how much data is available in that state.

For Wisconsin, the estimated reporting rate is as follows:

Cities/counties: 16 out of 105 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

School districts: 1 out of 212 CAFRs or financial statements we examined provided information on tax abatement programs in accordance with GASB Statement No.77.

Concerned about the lack of disclosure? Check out the roadmap on GASB 77 compliance we created for WI. You can also get a CSV file of the localities in WI that did not make any tax abatement disclosures in their annual financial reports.

Why is there little or no reporting from school districts?: Wisconsin's local governments rely on tax increment financing (TIF); some TIF diversions should be but are not currently covered by GASB 77.

The state does not post local financial audits in an online repository.

Reporting Jurisdictionsort icon Jurisdiction Type Gross Revenue Loss
Wood County County $0
Wauwatosa Municipality $3,958,298
Wausau Municipality $2,239,465
Waupaka County County $0
Walworth County County $0
Viroqua Municipality $437,424
Superior Municipality $0
Stanley Municipality $262,109
St. Croix County County $0
Sheboygan County County $0
Sheboygan Municipality $741,972
Sauk County County $0
Rhinelander Municipality $0
Racine County County $0
Racine Municipality $2,217,402
Pepin County County $0
Ozaukee County County $0
Oshkosh Municipality $4,134,288
Milwaukee County County $0
Milwaukee Municipality $2,580,000
Marinette Municipality $217,644
Marathon County County $0
Manitowoc Municipality $2,578,334
Madison Municipality $39,448,014
LaCrosse Municipality $1,508,958
La Crosse County County $0
Kenosha Municipality $18,032,574
Janesville Municipality $0
Green Bay Municipality $191,233
Fond du Lac Municipality $1,334,853
Florence County County $19,266
Edgerton Municipality $814,209
Eau Claire Municipality $0
Douglas County County $0
Dodge County County $0
Cumberland Municipality $133,862
Brown County County $0
Beloit Municipality $668,705
Beaver Dam Municipality $1,579,350
Ashland Municipality $72,708
Appleton Municipality $2,803,758
Adams County County $0