« Return to search form

Please note that data are cataloged by fiscal years. For more info see our user guide.

Change year to:

All | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017

Iowa Revenue Lost to Tax Abatement Programs

Total Revenue Lost$203,930,105

Download results as CSV or XML

State-level programs

Click on the name of a program for more details.

YearProgram NameProgram TypeGross Revenue Loss
2022Accelerated Career Education ProgramWorkforce development$3,497,000
2022Beginning Farmer Tax Credit ProgramAgricultural development$4,864,000
2022Enterprise Zone (EZ) ProgramGeneral Economic Development (EZ)$4,135,000
2022High Quality Jobs Program (HQJP)Job Creation/Retention$23,364,000
2022Historic Preservation and Cultural and Entertainment District Tax CreditHistoric Preservation$34,536,000
2022Iowa Industrial New Jobs Training ProgramJob Creation/Retention$27,974,000
2022Redevelopment Tax CreditBrownfield rehabilitation$2,946,000
2022Renewable Energy Tax CreditEnergy production$4,151,000
2022Targeted Jobs Tax Credit from WithholdingJob Creation/Retention$3,096,000
2022Workforce Housing Tax Incentive ProgramAffordable Housing$11,142,000

Tabulated localities and districts

Click on the name of jurisdiction for a list of tax abatement programs that reduced its tax revenue.

Data includes abatement information for the five most populous cities, counties, and school districts in each state (where available). If no data is shown for these top five jurisdictions, it is because they did not disclose GASB 77 tax abatement information in the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR), the amount reported was $0, or the ACFR has not been published yet. Some states include data for additional years and jurisdictions.

Reporting JurisdictionJurisdiction TypeGross Revenue Loss sort icon
Des Moines Independent Community School DistrictSchool district$22,608,912
Polk CountyCounty$13,011,465
City of DubuqueMunicipality$11,832,504
City of Des MoinesMunicipality$7,719,540
City of DavenportMunicipality$5,456,118
Dubuque Community School DistrictSchool district$5,069,500
City of WaterlooMunicipality$3,542,072
Cedar Rapids Community School DistrictSchool district$2,418,004
Linn CountyCounty$2,213,800
Iowa City Community School DistrictSchool district$2,181,211
Scott CountyCounty$1,939,784
City of Sioux CityMunicipality$1,935,111
Davenport Community School DistrictSchool district$1,048,184
Johnson CountyCounty$1,029,280
Black Hawk CountyCounty$817,886
City of Cedar RapidsMunicipality$597,330
City of AnkenyMunicipality$489,708
Sioux City Community School DistrictSchool district$314,696