« Return to search form

Please note that data are cataloged by fiscal years. For more info see our user guide.

Change year to:

All | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017

Mississippi Revenue Lost to Tax Abatement Programs

Total Revenue Lost$250,058,426

Download results as CSV or XML

State-level programs

Click on the name of a program for more details.

YearProgram NameProgram TypeGross Revenue Loss
2017Aggregate Tax Credits, rebates & exemptionsGeneral Economic Development$31,600,000
2018Aggregate Tax Credits, rebates, exemptions, and FILOTsVarious$17,495,000
2019Aggregate Tax Credits, rebates, exemptions, and FILOTsVarious$20,495,000
2020Aggregate Tax Credits, rebates, exemptions, and FILOTsVarious$21,307,000
2017Fee in Lieu of Franchise TaxGeneral Economic Development$9,200,000
2018Fee in Lieu of Franchise TaxJob Creation/Retention$9,450,000
2017Sales and Use Tax ExemptionsGeneral Economic Development$8,400,000
2019Sales and Use Tax ExemptionsCapital investment$10,753,000
2020Total Sales and Use Tax ExemptionsCapital investment$8,538,000
2018Total Sales and Use Tax ExemptionsCapital investment$9,259,000

Tabulated localities and districts

Click on the name of jurisdiction for a list of tax abatement programs that reduced its tax revenue.

Data includes abatement information for the five most populous cities, counties, and school districts in each state (where available). If no data is shown for these top five jurisdictions, it is because they did not disclose GASB 77 tax abatement information in the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR), the amount reported was $0, or the ACFR has not been published yet. Some states include data for additional years and jurisdictions.

Reporting JurisdictionJurisdiction TypeGross Revenue Loss
DeSoto CountyCounty$16,545,498
Harrison CountyCounty$10,781,094
Hinds CountyCounty$441,403
Jackson CountyCounty$60,085,504
Rankin CountyCounty$3,270,707
Lamar County School DistrictSchool district$0
Lawndes County School DistrictSchool district$0
Lee County School DistrictSchool district$0